The first images from ESA’s Solar Orbiter are already exceeding expectations and revealing interesting new phenomena on the Sun.

This animation combines a series of views captured with several remote-sensing instruments on Solar Orbiter between 30 May and 21 June 2020, when the spacecraft was roughly halfway between the Earth and the Sun – closer to the Sun than any …

Read the rest of this article

Total Solar Eclipse

General programming will be broadcast until official Eclipse Programming begins at 9 a.m. PDT (noon EDT, 5pm GMT) with a preview show hosted from Charleston, South Carolina.

The main show begins at 10 a.m. PDT (1 p.m. EDT, 6pm GMT) and will cover the path of totality the eclipse will take across the United States, from Oregon to South Carolina. …

Read the rest of this article

Watch the Solar Eclipse Online

General information about the eclipse will be broadcast until official Eclipse Programming begins at 9 a.m. PDT (noon EDT, 5pm GMT) with a preview show hosted from Charleston, South Carolina.

The main show begins at 10 a.m. PDT (1 p.m. EDT, 6pm GMT) and will cover the path of totality the eclipse will take across the United States, from Oregon …

Read the rest of this article

Today’s Total Solar Eclipse is one of the shorter ones, lasting 2 minutes and 40 seconds.

If you’re in the USA, then 12 states lie along the path of Totality.

At 10:15 am Pacific Daylight Time (1:15 PM EST, 6:15 GMT), the Great American Eclipse will begin. The first total solar eclipse in history unique to the United States, it …

Read the rest of this article

USA 2017 Solr Eclipse Map

This Monday, Aug. 21, every state in the U.S. will have a chance to see one of the sky’s most captivating shows, a solar eclipse. Some, in what’s called the path of totality, will even get to see a total solar eclipse, where the Moon completely covers the disk of the sun.

It marks the first time in 38 years …

Read the rest of this article

The Sun, 21 August 2017

While observers in North America will enjoy views of a total solar eclipse later today as the Moon slips between Earth and the Sun, it’s business as usual for our Proba-2 and SOHO satellites.

Proba-2 is expected to capture a series of partial eclipses, while SOHO will provide context images of the Sun and its extended atmosphere, or corona. The …

Read the rest of this article

A partial solar eclipse seen from space

Thanks to a quirk of our cosmos, the Moon’s average distance from Earth is just right for it to appear as the same size in the sky as the significantly larger Sun. Once in a while the Moon slides directly between Earth and the Sun such that it appears to cover our star completely, temporarily blocking out its light and …

Read the rest of this article

The Sun

It may look like a star, it may be called a star, but it does not yet generate energy like a normal star. This is because this star is still being formed.

It offers a fascinating glimpse into our own past because our Sun began its life as such a ‘T Tauri’ star some 4.6 billion years ago.

Located 1,800 …

Read the rest of this article

The Sun

The Solar and Heliospheric Observatory (SOHO) has been watching the Sun for almost 20 years. In that time it has seen solar activity ramp up and die down repeatedly. Its Extreme ultraviolet Imaging Telescope has taken images of the resulting waxing and waning of the Sun’s corona – its atmosphere – that are impossible to record from the ground.

Our …

Read the rest of this article

These three images were sent to me by Fintan Sheerin who shot them in Drogheda, Ireland (a town north of Dublin). He had better luck with seeing the eclipse than I did.

Have something to add to this story? Share it in the comments.


Looking for astronomy gear? Click here: Telescopes, GoTo Telescopes, Telescope Mounts, Astronomy Books

Read the rest of this article