The international Cassini mission reaches its dramatic finale this Friday (Sept. 15, 2017) by plunging into Saturn’s atmosphere, concluding 13-years of exploration around the ringed planet.

Here are some upcoming news conferences about the mission...

13 Sept

1PM EST / 5:00 PM GMT / 6:00 PM BST / 19:00 CEST: News conference with a detailed preview of final mission activities (also streaming at https://www.youtube.com/nasajpl) and here:

14 Sept

4:00 - 6:00 PM EST / 8:00-10:00 GMT / 9:00-11:00 PM BST / 10:00-12:00 PM CEST: Speaker programme as part of NASA Social event at JPL

15 Sept

~ 11:00 PM (Sept. 14) EST / 3:00 AM GMT / 4:00 AM BST / 05:00 AM CEST: Final images expected to begin appearing online in Cassini raw image gallery

7:00-8:30 AM EST / 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM GMT / 12:00 - 1:00 PM BST / 1:00-2:30 PM CEST: Live commentary, covering end of mission (loss of signal expected on Earth ~11:55 GMT/13:55 CEST)

13:30 GMT/15:30 CEST: Post-mission news conference

A detailed end of mission timeline is provided here.

The latest mission status reports from NASA are provided here.

Mission updates are provided on Twitter from NASA’s @CassiniSaturn account, and shared via @esascience. On 15 September @esaoperations will also share live updates from ESA’s mission control in Darmstadt where teams will follow Cassini’s final plunge using the Agency’s deep-space ground station in Australia.

 

Filed under: Saturn