Hipster Hair

Maybe you're familiar with the Mowhawk Hair Guy who was part of the mission controller staff for the Mars Curiosity Rover mission?

Distinctive hairstyles in space circles are nothing new!

The 1970s are known for being a fashion disaster, and to go with the awful clothes were awful hairstyles.

Think hipster hairdos are cool? People certainly did at one time …

Read the rest of this article

Tracking Stellar Motions

The movements of more than 300,000 stars surveyed by ESA’s Gaia satellite reveal that rare close encounters with our Sun might disturb the cloud of comets at the far reaches of our Solar System, sending some towards Earth in the distant future.

As the Solar System moves through the Galaxy, and as other stars move on their own paths, close …

Read the rest of this article

Cassini Spacecraft

NASA's Cassini spacecraft has explored the Saturn system since 2004, re-writing our understanding of the giant planet, its rings, moons and magnetosphere.

For 13 years the spacecraft’s incredible, truly otherworldly images have revealed the wonder of Saturn in surprising, often awe-inspiring ways.

Cassini is planetary exploration at its finest, proving that to truly reveal the grandeur of a world, there …

Read the rest of this article

Elon Musk's Official SpaceX Spacesuit

Earlier today, Elon Musk released the first image of the official SpaceX Spacesuit on Instagram. Here's What he said:

.
First picture of SpaceX spacesuit. More in days to follow. Worth noting that this actually works (not a mockup). Already tested to double vacuum pressure. Was incredibly hard to balance esthetics and function. Easy to do either separately.
.

Read the rest of this article

Trappist-1

If we want to know more about whether life could survive on a planet outside our solar system, it's important to know the age of its star. Young stars have frequent releases of high-energy radiation called flares that can zap their planets' surfaces. If the planets are newly formed, their orbits may also be unstable. On the other hand, planets …

Read the rest of this article

Total Solar Eclipse

General programming will be broadcast until official Eclipse Programming begins at 9 a.m. PDT (noon EDT, 5pm GMT) with a preview show hosted from Charleston, South Carolina.

The main show begins at 10 a.m. PDT (1 p.m. EDT, 6pm GMT) and will cover the path of totality the eclipse will take across the United States, from Oregon to South Carolina. …

Read the rest of this article

Watch the Solar Eclipse Online

General information about the eclipse will be broadcast until official Eclipse Programming begins at 9 a.m. PDT (noon EDT, 5pm GMT) with a preview show hosted from Charleston, South Carolina.

The main show begins at 10 a.m. PDT (1 p.m. EDT, 6pm GMT) and will cover the path of totality the eclipse will take across the United States, from Oregon …

Read the rest of this article

Today's Total Solar Eclipse is one of the shorter ones, lasting 2 minutes and 40 seconds.

If you're in the USA, then 12 states lie along the path of Totality.

At 10:15 am Pacific Daylight Time (1:15 PM EST, 6:15 GMT), the Great American Eclipse will begin. The first total solar eclipse in history unique to the United States, it …

Read the rest of this article

USA 2017 Solr Eclipse Map

This Monday, Aug. 21, every state in the U.S. will have a chance to see one of the sky's most captivating shows, a solar eclipse. Some, in what's called the path of totality, will even get to see a total solar eclipse, where the Moon completely covers the disk of the sun.

It marks the first time in 38 years …

Read the rest of this article

The Sun, 21 August 2017

While observers in North America will enjoy views of a total solar eclipse later today as the Moon slips between Earth and the Sun, it’s business as usual for our Proba-2 and SOHO satellites.

Proba-2 is expected to capture a series of partial eclipses, while SOHO will provide context images of the Sun and its extended atmosphere, or corona. The …

Read the rest of this article